Norrbottens län

County of Norrbotten – a county in northern Norrland. It constitutes the province of Norrbotten plus the major parts of Lappland. The county is by size the largest county in Sweden.

The two counties of Jämtland and Norrbotten have the lowest density of population in Sweden. The county is subdivided into 14 local administrative districts – kommun (municipalities). The county capital is Luleå. In 1810 the province of Norrbotten was separated from the province Västerbotten and formed an individual county.

Major cities are Luleå, Piteå and Boden.

The county of Norrbotten includes Luleå University.



Do You have questions about sweden?

drop us a line and keep in touch