Örebro län

The County of Örebro – a county in the southern parts of Svealand. Örebro County is encompassing the traditional provinces (landskap) of Närke, western Västmanland, and eastern Värmland, the northeastern corner of Västergötland, a small part of southern Dalarna and a small part of northwestern Östergötland.

The county is subdivided into 12 local administrative districts – kommun (municipalities). The county capital is Örebro. The county of Örebro was established in 1634 and received its present shape in 1779 when the province of Värmland formed a county of its own. Major cities are Örebro, Karlskoga and Lindesberg.

The County of Örebro includes Örebro University.



Do You have questions about sweden?

drop us a line and keep in touch